How to Realize How Far You’ve Come

By: Jessica

Hey everyone!! Hope you had a great weekend! Today let’s discuss the past to the present. Let’s compare and see how you have come to be in the health career field.

jessica-11-18Let’s use your 12-year-old self as an example. Did you want to be a doctor? Nurse? I know that when I was 12 years old all I wanted to do was live in a Barbie mansion with my version of Ken, drive my convertible up and down the Malibu coast and go shopping for all the cute clothes. Ok, I am not going to lie, that is still currently my dream haha! When you started middle school, it’s likely the teachers started giving you quizzes and tests that were supposed to help you figure out what you wanted to be when you grew up. My method for taking these tests was to just close my eyes and circle things. I was in middle school, I had no idea what I wanted to do when I grew up! My main concern at that time was what I was going to do on the weekend and who I was going to have a crush on that week.

Little did I know how quickly those years would pass, and I would still not have a clue as to what I wanted to be when I grew up. Still, at age 34, I haven’t the slightest idea when I will grow up. But I have narrowed down my potential career list. I know for sure that Medical Billing is for me.

How do I know that Medical Billing is for me? It’s something that I constantly want to learn more about and I continue to have a passion for it. It works very well with my OCD habits and it has helped me to become a more disciplined person. I’m hopeful that Medical Billing will allow me to work from home, so in the winter months I can call this hibernation. So, how does my life today compare to five years ago?

1. My life has structure and purpose.

2. I set career goals – not just spending limits.

3. I am striving for my career, and not to be the most popular person at a party.

4. I have some very smart and helpful instructors that help guide me, instead of annoying me.

5. I am more aware of how fast time flies when you are having fun.

6. But most of all, I have a genuine passion for something that makes me a better person.

I am very happy with my decision to join At-Home Professions. I cannot wait to get my certificate and frame it. With that being said, I think I better start brainstorming my next 5 year plan, other than enjoying the career I am striving for currently. So how about you? Where were you 5 years ago compared to the present?

Leave a Reply

