Your First Day vs. Your Last Day

By: Jessica

Hi everyone! I hope you had a great weekend and are all rested and ready to begin a new week ahead. I’d like you to think back to the first day you began this program; were you nervous or excited maybe? I was all in, rearing to go. I think it literally only took 2 weeks for me to complete the first course. But I had already taken a few courses prior to At-Home Professions, so please don’t feel like you are lagging at all if it takes you longer than that! By the third course I slowed down a lot. This program is by no means easy, and there are some complicated questions and situations you’ll encounter in your schoolwork that I am positive will come up in the workplace, also. But that is what this program is designed for – to give you the real life situations up front so you are trained and prepared to conquer them when they arise!

I’ll be completely honest with you, when I first started this program I was so sure that I was going to complete this program in less than 6 months. But here I am, a year later and I am working on the fourth course. I had given work and other things my focus, and not my schooling. As we all know, it is not easy to juggle school, work and family. But it can be done with lots of planning and support!

GetFileAttachment-1My last day of work until September is this Friday. Starting then, my whole focus will be to complete this course no later than July. If you’re struggling to finish the program and feel like giving up, talk to your supporters or even an instructor to get back that positive energy and excitement you had in the beginning. I cannot wait to feel the accomplishment of checking one more thing off my bucket list. However, don’t let completing one task satisfy you – keep going! Get that dream job of working from home coding and transcribing. I am a firm believer that life is what you make it. There is no limit to how much you can learn or achieve.

Each completed task, or check off your bucket list, will only make you smile brighter and boost your confidence even more. When you complete your last course and get that certificate in the mail, write down your feelings. Send an email to your instructors letting them know how much they helped you or how amazing it feels to get that certificate in your hands. Then dive right into the job search. Don’t ever stop wanting more for yourself and your family.

Another question I’ve received from others is about whether I will celebrate earning a certification? I say absolutely! Any accomplishment needs to be celebrated. Keep going, you’re almost there. If you have already finished, tell us how hard or how easy or just how the course was for you, personally. You never know how your experience may relate to another’s experience!

Leave a Reply

