What I’ve Learned So Far

By: Jessica

Jessica 6-19Good morning, everyone! I hope you have had a great week! It is hot here in Michigan and I am soaking it all in. So, this week I want to chit chat about what I have learned so far in my HDS program and how I have been able to utilize it in my everyday life. So, here it goes!

1. Terminology – There are a lot of big words. But when they are broken down I can, a) pronounce them, b) there are only 6 to 10 real things to remember, which are where on the body are they (i.e. brain, heart, skeletal, kidney, skin, etc.) Terminology is basically a road map for healthcare. Once you know where to begin, it will guide you through. Just as in life, take things slowly and break it down so you can understand it all. Everything will fall into place if you just take it slow and don’t give up. Just keep following your own road map. As far as doctor visits, after the terminology portion of this course, you will know what all these complicated words mean and understand what the doctor is talking about. No more feeling clueless – and now all your other family members will want you to decode things for them, too.

2. Billing – Insurance and doctors seem like they make this so much harder than it really is. Billing has honestly been my favorite part of this program so far. Just like in life, there are so many options that can be used, so it can be very overwhelming. Again, break it down and it will be much easier. I am the type of person that likes things in black and white, that’s it, two options or I get overwhelmed. It seems, for me anyway, there are more lessons in this program than meet the eye.

3. Human Anatomy – I knew men were confusing (HA!), but there is a lot to know about our bodies! When learning about the human body, it is very interesting and, at times, can make my stomach turn. But, I have a weak stomach, too. This is when the light bulb popped on for me. Learning how things work and why you get sick and how the sickness travels through the blood was eye opening. Don’t get me wrong, there is A LOT of information, but it’s like reading a good book you cannot put down. One word of advice: don’t go to the doctor and tell him, “no thanks, I do not need your services, I know exactly what is wrong with me,” and go on to explain your anatomy and how you have come to that conclusion. He might get a bit upset!

4. Coding – This, for me, has been the most frustrating part of the course. I am still going through this section. I cannot lie, it has made me want to give up a few times. I have slammed my book shut at least three times (and counting). I have persisted, however, and I am starting to get it. Again, the light bulb has clicked on. The only way I can explain it is this: it’s like searching for a word in Webster’s Dictionary, there are so many options for each code. You have to break it down until it cannot be broken down anymore. Patience really helps in this section!

Just like in the real world, everything takes time and patience. Once you’ve accomplished your goal (big or small) a weight is lifted from your shoulders and a big smile is on your face. So, keep going and be patient. See you next week!

Leave a Reply

