Testing Tips

By: Jessica

Hello everyone! Welcome back to another new week. I hope you had a great weekend. This week I’m going to discuss testing. Everyone has different feelings towards it. I, for one, used to stress out as a child. Now that I am older and wiser, I just prepare my best and stress out after until I get my grade. I’ve put together some tips that I use to prepare for testing. These works for me, and I am sure there are other ways to prepare! If you have some ideas to share, please feel free to do so in the comments!

Thumbs UpFor those of you that have the actual hard copy of the workbooks, this is why I get the actual hard copies: for preparing for the tests. I like to highlight or even put sticky tags on important information that I need to remember or come back to. For those of you that use the computer only, don’t worry, there are also ways to highlight and sticky note the lesson books digitally, too.

For Computer-Only Users:

I keep notes on my computer by highlighting, copying and pasting valuable info into a Word document. I title these documents by the chapter and then “Notes” at the top of the page. Above each note I also like to put the page number and maybe a small title to what each note pertains to, so when I go back and look at all my notes I am not confused as to what I am looking at. When I have all my notes in place, I will go back and read through my practice quizzes and ensure I know how I came up with each answer. The practice quizzes have really helped me with the tests. Note to self: make sure you have the correct answers, too 🙂

If there are any words that you are not sure of, look them up in the medical dictionary. I know it sounds tedious, but trust me, it helps to know what that word means. That one word could tell you if the question wants to know more about the heart or a certain part of the body! If you do not know what it means, you could think it is about a totally different part of the body!

For Hard Copy Users:

To prepare for tests, I have a million little sticky tags all over my workbook. I have one with the chapter and page number, like a bookmark. Then on the specific page, I have a tag on the paragraph I want to remember and I have that specific information highlighted. It seems like lot but it’s easy to do when you are just reading along. I tag as I go. I always read the practice quiz before I start the chapter so I know what I am looking for. Once you do it a few times, it goes by quickly and practice tests and quizzes are smooth sailing.

Of course, the night before you take a test make sure you get a good night’s sleep. Be sure to eat and be wide awake. Also, don’t rush yourself, give yourself plenty of time! Happy Testing!

Leave a Reply

