Getting Back on Track

By: Jessica

Hi Everyone!!! Hope you had a wonderful weekend and got to spend some much needed time with family and friends. Have you ever just had those days when nothing goes right for you? Literally, everything you seem to touch just falls apart? We all have those moments when we just want to put all of our bad days in a locked cellar and never see them again, right? Well, not to be a bubble buster, but it does not work like that, but we can learn from those days and choose to move on with a smile and try again!

Jessica 7-17My recent experience with Course 4 on CPT Coding is just getting the best of me. I slacked off for a while, I know, shame on me. So I tried to just rush through and get the gist of the chapter, then do my quizzes and test. Bad idea!!! Let me repeat: bad idea, don’t do it! Rushing through and getting just the gist really hurt my grade. I am very persistent with having a decent grade when I am finished with my program. With this, it has really set me back. I wanted to just give up like a few of the naysayers said I would. But, hearing them say, “I told you so,” is not an option for me.

I went back and read the entire chapter and went over my quiz again with the correct answers and made sure I understood how that answer was obtained. I even got a message from my current instructor asking if I needed some help because she had noticed a change in my grade and the time I had spent. That is customer service! These instructors really do care and you are not just a number to them. The lesson I learned was, seriously, just take the time that is needed to learn the lesson. Do not rush through it, doing so will hurt you in the long run and you won’t absorb everything you need to for the test. It’s not worth it. It will take you even longer in the end. If you do not have the time to read through, wait until you do have the time or, again, schedule out your study time to ensure you’re thorough.

Here are my study tips:

1. Schedule at least a 4 hour study session, 3 times a week.

2. Read, take notes and/or highlight the important concepts from each lesson.

3. Read the quiz questions before you begin a chapter. This helps me know what I need to remember without highlighting the whole chapter!

4. Answer these quiz questions as you go.

5. If you do not feel confident in your answers, go back and reread that section to ensure you understand the concept completely so you can answer the question. I promise it really is in the book!

6. If you’re in need of help, look in the chat room to find your current instructor. If he or she is not available, send a message. They will reply as soon as they can. You can also contact them by phone!

There are plenty of people who are willing to help you, even fellow students. Just make sure you are not just getting the answer. Understanding why that is the answer and how to obtain the answer is key to actually learning the material! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

