Bad Habits

By: Jessica

Good morning everyone! Hope you have had a great weekend.  I have had a great past two weekends and am just waiting for the bad weather to get up to Michigan. I have a horrible feeling that we are going to get a bunch of snow this year.  If you know anything about me you know I dislike snow with a passion.  But this week I would like to talk about our bad habits.  Everyone has them, and everyone tries to overcome them.  But there are the select few that do not care to overcome them.  That is perfectly fine as long as it does not hinder your well being right?

First we have to decipher what your bad habits are…so make a list.

Here is my list for example:

  1. Take on too much.
  2. Do not like to commit to long term like working out with someone every day.
  3. OCD about cleaning and everything being perfect.

Those are a few that I am currently working on.  So now that we have our list we need to make a plan on how to manage them.

  1. When I take on too much I have to use my planner and set up a specific time schedule for each activity that I have taken on so I can give attention to each one equally, as well as quality time to accomplish the project to my standards as well.
  2. I also get boxes or bins for each project so that I can keep all the materials in one place and not spend my time looking for all the materials needed. (Example all my school supplies for class are all in my backpack and each course is labeled and in a file in my File cabinet.  )
  3. I always have a backup plan for a person that I can trust with a project just in case I may need someone to lend a hand or for the most part give me advice. This person is usually my husband or my best friend.  They are also good for keeping me on track.

Now the next step is to make a plan or a way to stop doing these bad habits.

  1. Keep your planner in your cell phone as a reminder so when someone asks for you to take on a project you can physically see that there is no time or room to take on another project.
  2. Using that calendar to put reminders in so that you can commit to long term things with friends, which also keeps you healthy. Or in my case I workout better on my own without others watching me look goofy.
  3. With the OCD ways my husband will go behind me and switch things up when he knows I am super busy. Then I will notice it and giggle because I know it is his way of doing things to mess with me and put a smile on face, and letting me know it is possible to not have things perfect and still live my life.

So if you have a few bad habits you want to change try my advice this week and see how it works for you.  A little change may seem horrible but in the end it may be the best thing for you.  Have a great week and see you next week.

Leave a Reply

