HOME

By: Jessica

Hi Everyone! I hope you have had a great weekend and week! I enjoyed our summer weather on the first day of fall here in Michigan.  It is normally in the low 50s here and over the weekend it was 97 degrees!!! I was soaking it all in, let me tell you.  So with that being said I would like to ask you a question.  How do you feel about working from home?  How about going to school from home?  I always said that if I could just stay home, I could get so much accomplished.  Well in that sense yes, if you stay home there are many things you can accomplish.   I never knew the flip side of that sentence though.  The more I stay home the more projects and things to do on my list get longer.  That is no joke!

When I first heard of At Home Professions I was ecstatic! That has always been my dream to work from home.  So I figured that this was a definite sign that I needed to go back to school so that I could earn the skills I needed to work from home.  So here I am going to school.  I figured that since I am going to be doing all my classes online that I could accomplish and complete the course in less than 6 months.  It has been done by several people.  But sadly, I am not one of them.  Going to school from home I believe is much harder and strict.  There are a lot more distractions and things that can interrupt you during your studying.  So I have said this before, you have to be very organized and strict.  Honestly no one will be harder on you than yourself.  It is too easy to fall into the “I’ll do it tomorrow” routine.  To be honest with you, that is why I am going to college in my 30s…because I said I would enroll in college at the end of summer.  Well here I am 16 years later.  I do not regret my decisions at all.  I am very happy to be doing this course.  I recently landed a work from home job also.  So I am crossing off things from my bucket list left and right.  I have to tell you though it is so hard to shut the door and leave work life and school life in the office.  So what helps with this is complete organization and vigor.  I have created a Home management binder where I plan my family meals for the month, the budget, and all of our schedules.  I have a sign on my office door that has my work hours and my school hours.  I have several alarms for school time and break time.  The alarms have helped me stay on task.  Once you start getting into a project it is easy to lose track of time.  With this being said I hope that you can use these tips and life lessons from me and apply them to at least your studying.  Have a great week and I will see you next week.

Leave a Reply

