Back to the Basics

By: Jessica

Hi Everyone! I hope you have had a great weekend, and enjoyed some much needed time with family and friends.  I had a great weekend kayaking with friends and family on the river! I am tired and sore, but well worth the laughter and workout.  So let’s talk about the medical professional documentation course.  There are 3 basic things being taught in this course.

  1. Medical Terminology
  2. Medical Coding
  3. Transcription

I will go over my experience in each of these categories…

Medical Terminology is a big one and I felt it was the hardest for me to get the hang of, but it is the most important one.  I say that it is the most important because it helps you to identify terms and body parts to help you in the coding process.  There is no way in the world that you can possibly memorize them all – so it is helpful to keep the flash cards handy.  Keep them in order or that will really mess you up.  I kept them on an O ring in order so I could just flip through them.  Laminating them is a good idea to so you do not rip them.  I use mine a lot.

Next up is Coding.  Oh coding…there are so many possible answers that it can seem overwhelming.  There are lots of rules on how to get your answer – I’m sure every doctor will teach you their preferred way to code.  But don’t get worried! Once you have the terminology and the coding process down, it all fits together like a puzzle and you will have that ahhha moment.  That moment is the best feeling in the world. In coding you have to think of it as looking up a word in a dictionary and finding the best possible solution to problem solving in math.  Yes I know that makes no sense but once you start coding it will make perfect sense.  Before I took this course I thought all the codes were just as simple as typing a letter in the system and letting the system do all the hard work for you.  Nope, I was wrong.  But that is ok because now I have the knowledge and understanding of how it all works.

Last but not least is Transcription.  To me, this is my favorite!  I have just started so that may change, ha-ha.  Just listening to some of these samples in the test book make me nervous because I know there are some doctors who speak quickly and are hard to understand that I might have a hard time typing the notes.  It’s not as easy as when the person is there and you can ask them to repeat something.  But these are just small trial of the profession and with more practice and knowledge it will get easier.  At least that is what I keep telling myself.

So I will end on that note and until next week keep going for your goals and enjoy your week.

Leave a Reply

